Dr. Jamie Rogers Elected President of ABET

Dr. RogersThe Board of Directors at the Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology (ABET) has elected Dr. Jamie Rogers for president. ABET is a “nonprofit, non-governmental organization that accredits college and university programs in the disciplines of applied science, computing, engineering, and engineering technology.” ABET accreditation assures that the university’s program meets the standards of quality established by the profession in the various fields of study. The IMSE Department is ABET accredited.

Dr. Rogers has been active in ABET, serving on he Board of Directors, International Activities Council, and Engineering Accreditation Commission. In addition to her election, she has been nominated for IIE Fellow and the prestigious Piper Professor Award. In 2011, she was inducted into the UTA Academy of Distinguished Teachers. She also received the UT System Regents’ Outstanding Teacher Award in recognition of her teaching excellence in 2012.

Dr. Jamie Rogers is a professor and the Associate Chair of the IMSE Department at UT Arlington.  She  also serves as the faculty advisor for the industrial engineering professional student organization, IIE.

Read the official announcement of Dr. Rogers’s election on the ABET website.